Corrupted STE.GMP after save with DMA's map editor

Anything to do with GTA1/GTA2 modding (tools, scripts and more).
Post Reply
PresidentEvil
Jaywalker
Jaywalker
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 15:20

Corrupted STE.GMP after save with DMA's map editor

Post by PresidentEvil »

Sorry for making another post so soon.
I'm having trouble with the map editor, when trying to save STE.gmp.
When I save the other 2 default game maps after editing, everything is okay. But when I save STE.gmp and open it again, I notice that the map has no lights. And when I test it in the game I get an error when it's loading the map.
I tried saving normally, saving as compressed, etc. and got the same results. I tried saving with and without doing changes to the map but it always gets corrupted.
Is it simply impossible to save the default STE.gmp map without corrupting it?
User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1393
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Corrupted STE.GMP after save with DMA's map editor

Post by Sektor »

Interesting, I'm surprised I haven't heard of that before. I was getting "invalid map object data" even after doing save compressed. Using Epic GTA2 Map Editor > tools > optimise GMP, removed that error but it also removes the orange cones from one of the bridges. Cones are the only objects on the map that were added using the editor rather than the much more stable script method.

http://gtamp.com/images/cones.jpg

Coordinates for the 10 cones. I'd add them again using script but the decompiler isn't complete enough and no one has made an SCR editor that allows inserting commands.

OBJ_DATA cone01 = ( 50.00 , 162.480 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone02 = ( 50.64 , 162.480 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone03 = ( 51.96 , 162.480 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone04 = ( 51.00 , 162.460 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone05 = ( 51.50 , 162.460 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone06 = ( 52.60 , 162.500 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone07 = ( 50.48 , 145.104 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone08 = ( 50.00 , 145.104 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone09 = ( 52.00 , 145.104 ) 0 CONE
OBJ_DATA cone10 = ( 51.60 , 145.104 ) 0 CONE

Those coordinates don't seem to be 100% accurate, the part after the decimal point shows as an X or Y offset in the map editor and I wasn't sure how to convert that.
User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Corrupted STE.GMP after save with DMA's map editor

Post by T.M. »

Sektor wrote:and no one has made an SCR editor that allows inserting commands.
Shouldnt be that complicated though... might even be able to do that as a web tool with javascript.
PresidentEvil
Jaywalker
Jaywalker
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 15:20

Re: Corrupted STE.GMP after save with DMA's map editor

Post by PresidentEvil »

Oh, so the cones were causing it :P And thanks a lot!! Optimizing it with the Epic Map Editor worked
User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Corrupted STE.GMP after save with DMA's map editor

Post by T.M. »

PresidentEvil wrote:Optimizing it with the Epic Map Editor worked
Thats funny. Didn't intend it to be used that way :D
Post Reply