Screenshot of Maps

Anything to do with GTA1/GTA2 modding (tools, scripts and more).
Post Reply
Shazdeh
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 60
Joined: 29 Jul 2009, 20:22
GH nick: Dont_have_yet

Screenshot of Maps

Post by Shazdeh »

Is there an application to create an acceptable size screenshot of maps automatically?

User avatar
Gustavob
Immortal
Posts: 407
Joined: 18 May 2009, 21:40
GH nick: Gustavob
|Gustavob|
Location: Nowhere.
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of Maps

Post by Gustavob »

You can open your map in TMs editor, zoom in it as much as you want to and hit F12, but remove the sidebar with minimap and tiles (F1) first
You just lost the game.

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1383
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of Maps

Post by Sektor »

That wouldn't be automatic. Every time you open a new map in TM's viewer, the minimap will be saved as 256x256 size JPG in the data/minimaps folder. The resolution is too low to be considered acceptable size but it's the only automated method that exists right now. I think automatic map saving is on TM's todo list. I requested it several times.

User avatar
Gustavob
Immortal
Posts: 407
Joined: 18 May 2009, 21:40
GH nick: Gustavob
|Gustavob|
Location: Nowhere.
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of Maps

Post by Gustavob »

yea, I didnt see the 'automatically' word on his post, sorry
You just lost the game.

Shazdeh
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 60
Joined: 29 Jul 2009, 20:22
GH nick: Dont_have_yet

Re: Screenshot of Maps

Post by Shazdeh »

The other thing is that first you have to zoom, take snapshot, move the scene, take another snapshot, etc. You see, to get the whole city picture you have to do like this. You can zoom out to get the picture but that wouldn't be a so great size. :(
Hope I could say what I wanted to say! Still a newbie in English :(

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1383
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of Maps

Post by Sektor »

If you have a high enough resolution monitor then you can zoom out far enough to make a good sized screenshot.

edit: Resolution doesn't matter, see below

User avatar
Cuban-Pete
Immortal
Posts: 909
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:03
GH nick: Cuban-Pete

Re: Screenshot of Maps

Post by Cuban-Pete »

Yeah, you could perhaps fake it by running a virtual pc with very high resolution and take screen shot. :lol:
"Mmmm, your eyes are so beautiful."

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1383
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of Maps

Post by Sektor »

TradeMark's viewer actually has a large screenshot option.

To make a massive image, zoom in close with scrollwheel and then go to File > Save image > Map image > Tilesize from current altitude. Note: taking bigger images can take up to 800 megs memory. preferred tile sizes: 8 to 32. (means 12 to 200 megs memory usage).

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Screenshot of Maps

Post by BenMillard »

The feature File > Save Image > Minimap is probably what you are looking for, Gustavob and Shazdeh. (It's not automatic but it's really easy to use.)

Post Reply