Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6602) Beta

Anything to do with GTA1/GTA2 modding (tools, scripts and more).
User avatar
Cuban-Pete
Immortal
Posts: 909
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:03
GH nick: Cuban-Pete

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by Cuban-Pete »

The shadow is all quadratic (look at lanterns shadow or the trees), I don't know how to fix that. I guess that is because of the "cheap" ambient occlusion rendering used in Blender.

Some very busy renders: [doubledamage]

residental3.jpg
residental2.jpg
residental.jpg
"Mmmm, your eyes are so beautiful."

User avatar
AssainGuy
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 99
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 13:11
GH nick: AssainGuy
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by AssainGuy »

so actually we can port gta2 maps into (ex.) blender? cool!
GMOD next :)))
i come here sometimes
Software Development / Audio Engineering

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

Looks cool, i still like more the previous one you did, though :)

That last image looks like its rendering the other side of the "flat" at same time. Have you enabled face culling? or maybe the exporter has some bugs... gotta take a look.

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

Looks like i broke the deltas (numbers on racecars), just noticed.

Amazing bug though: if i fix it, it will cause memory access violations, if i dont fix it, deltas stop working. (or was it other way around) :? So, i can make it work but it will cause crashes :| What the hell... anyways too tired to think about it now.

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by BenMillard »

Cuban-Pete, the lighting on the Scientist's test track jump over the water looks perfect! Shade from the wall one side blending across to highlight from the Sun on the other.

I always like seeing the North-East warehouse and docks from Industrial. Vedic Temple and the Escobar Power Cores are also cool. Maybe some close-up renders of my Vedic Temple arena? I'm pleased with Tiny Tiny Town and Tiny Hidden Surprise if you want to try some other smaller scenes.

TM, does the COLLADA technical specification (PDF) help at all? Chapter 5 has a section called light which says:
Specifies light in formation for the common profile that all
COLLADA implementations must support. See “The
Common Profile” section for usage information. Mu st
contain exactly one <ambient> (core),
<directional>, <point>, or <spot> element; see
their main entri e s.
It says a couple more things then gives this example:
Here is an example of a <library_lights> elemen t that contains a directional <light> element that is
instantiated in a visual scene, rotated to portray a sunset:
[xml]<library_lights>
< light id=" sun " name=" the-sun">
< technique_common >
<directional>
<color >1.0 1.0 1.0</color >
</ directional>
</technique_common>
</light >
</library_lights>
<library_visual_scenes>
< visual_scene>
< node>
<rotate>1 0 0 -10</rotate>
<instance_light url="#sun"/>
</node>
</visual_scene>
</library_visual_scenes >[/xml]
Not sure about the specifics at a quick glance, so this is probably stuff you already saw. <point> lights might the nearest thing to GTA2 lights?

(EDIT) Rogue spaces in the XML sample are because PDF sucks, AFAICT.

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

BenMillard wrote:<point> lights might the nearest thing to GTA2 lights?
Im not sure... probably. I will try.

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

Uh... looks like every program needs own profiles for lights...? i saved lights with blender and i get:

Code: Select all

<technique profile="blender">
with all the required stuff like light radius... not sure how can i make this work.

and idk how the attenuation variables work

Code: Select all

          <constant_attenuation>1</constant_attenuation>
          <linear_attenuation>0</linear_attenuation>
          <quadratic_attenuation>0.001599967</quadratic_attenuation>
i just need linear attenuation, nothing else. so middle = 100%, edge = 0%, i have forgot everything about these... so if you know lemme know and i might make it today.

edit: i think it goes like:

Code: Select all

          <constant_attenuation>0</constant_attenuation>
          <linear_attenuation>1</linear_attenuation>
          <quadratic_attenuation>0</quadratic_attenuation>
according to the formula in docs: A = constant_attenuation + ( Dist * linear_attenuation ) + (( Dist^2 ) * quadratic_attenuation )

User avatar
Cuban-Pete
Immortal
Posts: 909
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:03
GH nick: Cuban-Pete

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by Cuban-Pete »

// i dont know what constant atenduenance is

For a nice render, I kinda need lamps that have "Ray Shadow" and samples at 10.

See this image:
Naamloos.png
Naamloos.png (56.29 KiB) Viewed 17450 times
left top. ray 10
left bottom ray 1
right top ray 10 + AO
right bottom ray 1 + AO
"Mmmm, your eyes are so beautiful."

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

I need to use linear attenuation, even though it isnt realistic, but its what GTA2 uses... if i change it, the lights will not match how it was designed to be.

i dont know what "Ray Shadow" lamp is, i only have options: constant_attenuation, linear_attenuation, quadratic_attenuation. constant seems to change the brightness of the light somehow, so its brighter in the middle. quadratic is usually the realistic one to use, that i can remember.

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

edit: apparently the distance isnt working... what the hell does centimeter mean in blender?

edit2: here, i hope this works:
res.7z
with bulbs
(1.54 MiB) Downloaded 256 times
i couldnt make it render in blender, someone else try?

note that you need to generate the .tga yourself!

User avatar
Cuban-Pete
Immortal
Posts: 909
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:03
GH nick: Cuban-Pete

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by Cuban-Pete »

working on it...

//edit: it renders freaking slowly
"Mmmm, your eyes are so beautiful."

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

you could try cutting the map smaller to have only the area you render :D (thats what i do when i load map with lots of empty space, horribly slow). also, dont forget to remove doubles ^^

User avatar
Cuban-Pete
Immortal
Posts: 909
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:03
GH nick: Cuban-Pete

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by Cuban-Pete »

I give up, too much crap needs fixing.
wtf1.png
Sorry, but can´t get more out of it.
"Mmmm, your eyes are so beautiful."

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

did you get it any faster by cutting the maps/useless lamps off? looks like the squared shadows are a big problem too...

User avatar
Cuban-Pete
Immortal
Posts: 909
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:03
GH nick: Cuban-Pete

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by Cuban-Pete »

Yeah, turned lamps outside camera view off, it did help a little in render speed.
"Mmmm, your eyes are so beautiful."

NTAuthority
Ped
Ped
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Jan 2010, 07:52
GH nick: NTAuthority

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by NTAuthority »

Just a random somewhat off-topic question, but since you're the only person on this forum I could think of who has implemented a GBH map renderer, I was wondering if you could share your block vertex definitions? I'm experimenting with some stuff, and am getting weird issues with the vertex definitions I make up on various places including diagonal blocks' textures (and wouldn't even know what '3-sided diagonals' would look like properly).

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

@NTAuthority, you can use DMA map editor to check how the blocks look like and make your vertex data out of them by hands, at least thats how i did it.

NTAuthority
Ped
Ped
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Jan 2010, 07:52
GH nick: NTAuthority

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by NTAuthority »

T.M. wrote:@NTAuthority, you can use DMA map editor to check how the blocks look like and make your vertex data out of them by hands, at least thats how i did it.
Seems like a tedious task, but okay. :P

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by T.M. »

Created a video for showing how this editor works in its basics:


The quality is surprisingly bad... i noticed i accidentally recorded everything with 640x470 instead of 640x480, i think that is why its so bad quality, or maybe youtube didnt encode the higher quality yet...

Davidio
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 65
Joined: 22 Feb 2011, 12:18
GH nick: Davidio

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Post by Davidio »

What is different by the TM's Map editor and this?

Post Reply