Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6602) Beta

Anything to do with GTA1/GTA2 modding (tools, scripts and more).
User avatar
Shrooblord
Mugger
Mugger
Posts: 10
Joined: 23 Oct 2010, 14:06
GH nick: Shrooblord

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by Shrooblord » 31 Oct 2010, 20:52

Well, I did have another one: I was hoping there'd be some 'add files' option. You know, you've got a map, it's loaded, then you remember there's also a script file to go with it. It's a bit annoying that you have to open up the whole map again just to find the script file; as opposed to 'adding' the script file later. I know there's a reload files option, so I thought maybe an 'add files' option would also be appropriate.

I know, it's a bit of a picky one this one, and a bit obsolete overall, but I thought it was worth mentioning nonetheless.
Shrooblord is here and ready to mod, map and go mad with GTA2!
I applaud TradeMark for the GTA2 Map Editor!

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 31 Oct 2010, 21:30

You can already do that, use "File -> Open..." after you loaded your map.


User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 15 Nov 2010, 19:45

Lights coming!
Image

Lights Editor look:
Image

The lights rendering is pretty harsh now, but i'll improve it later.

What do you think of editing the lights... how should it be displayed? smaller spheres showing the locations where you can click and edit the lights? These big ones are pretty heavy to render lol.

User avatar
elypter
Immortal
Posts: 1120
Joined: 26 Dec 2009, 23:53
GH nick: elypter

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by elypter » 15 Nov 2010, 20:29

both modes look awesome. i think this sphere mode is great for most situations. but if you have problems rendering them or when you want to edit many big lights in a small area symbols like in script editor would be better. It would also be great to be able to edit lights at daylight, especially when you are starting to create lights.
yur sa'nok ngeyä

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 15 Nov 2010, 23:48

elypter wrote:i think this sphere mode is great for most situations. but if you have problems rendering them or when you want to edit many big lights in a small area symbols like in script editor would be better.
I was thinking to show the sphere at full size only when the user selects one light, i forgot thats how i already do it in the script editor which also can display light spheres. I also noticed that DMA editor displays small pyramid to represent the light, i probably do the same, except you can click & move with mouse.
elypter wrote:It would also be great to be able to edit lights at daylight, especially when you are starting to create lights
Hmm... indeed that would be nice to place lights under generators etc. while you edit script.

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 20 Nov 2010, 21:25

Trains visible, yayh...

Image
You can also move the train by moving the stop point zone from it. Maybe i will make it possible to move the stop zone by moving the sprite... dunno

The multiple-object-moving-by-mouse and conveyor etc. resize need to be finished, then i think its done... The object add still isnt functional. What else i forgot ? oh the give_weapon etc... i dont think i will make that in the next release as its kinda hard/impossible since i cant really parse the .mis file perfectly (it would show the weapons for every object with that name without caring about if's etc).

Oh, and i made the Lights saving and found out a way to save it better than DMA editor :D (about 600bytes smaller after 7zip XD)

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 21 Nov 2010, 00:34

Added bending capability and played around with the amount of trailers...

Image
:D

Too bad GTA2 supports max 9 trailers for trains :(

User avatar
Cuban-Pete
Immortal
Posts: 909
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:03
GH nick: Cuban-Pete

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by Cuban-Pete » 21 Nov 2010, 09:22

Looks good. :)

What are those red flower/head pointing things supposed to mean? I know they are used for where the train is going, but other than that...
"Mmmm, your eyes are so beautiful."

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1370
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by Sektor » 21 Nov 2010, 09:31

Cuban-Pete wrote:What are those red flower/head pointing things supposed to mean? I know they are used for where the train is going, but other than that...
LOL! Those are Vike's clown head. They are part of the map and you can see them in game on DDV.

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 21 Nov 2010, 12:46

lol yes it takes a while to figure out what all those faces in his map are :P

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 25 Nov 2010, 17:41

Rofl, i found out a funny thing:
Image

Trailer gang XD

You can even pick them up with a truck (harder than normally for some reason o.O), and release them later and they just keep driving xd


Edit: managed to attach two gang cars to each other (really hard to push them so the trailer locks :D ):
Image

It gets dummy after that though... just drives forward

User avatar
Salamander
Janitor
Janitor
Posts: 145
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 20:38
GH nick: Salamander
KingSalamander
Sally
[00]
Contact:

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by Salamander » 25 Nov 2010, 18:49

Where can I get it, Trademark?
Also, what language(s) did you write it in?

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 25 Nov 2010, 19:29

Here, written in MIS:

Code: Select all

SET_GANG_INFO (gng1, 11, PISTOL, PISTOL, PISTOL, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1, TRUKCONT, 11)
SET_GANG_INFO (gng2, 4, PISTOL, PISTOL, PISTOL, 1, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1, TRUKCAB1, 11)

MAP_ZONE gng1map = ( 1000 ,     0,     0 ,      0 ,       0 ,          0 ,         0 ,    0 ,           0 , 0 ,         1000 )
MAP_ZONE gng2map = ( 1000 ,     0,     0 ,      0 ,       0 ,          0 ,         0 ,    0 ,           0 , 0 ,         1000 )
:D

User avatar
Salamander
Janitor
Janitor
Posts: 145
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 20:38
GH nick: Salamander
KingSalamander
Sally
[00]
Contact:

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by Salamander » 25 Nov 2010, 23:21

What we have here...

I meant where can I get the latest version of your map editor, and what language(s) did you write it in?

User avatar
Gustavob
Immortal
Posts: 407
Joined: 18 May 2009, 21:40
GH nick: Gustavob
|Gustavob|
Location: Nowhere.
Contact:

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by Gustavob » 25 Nov 2010, 23:36

the version with script editor stuff and lights/light editing has not been released yet. Ask TM for it in a PM perhaps :p
You just lost the game.

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 26 Nov 2010, 11:33

I'm writing the editor in C++/OpenGL and English

The latest version isnt ready yet and is only being tested by few users. If you want to join to the testers, the best way to help me is to add me on MSN Messenger, so i can send all the bugfix packs etc fast.

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by T.M. » 16 Dec 2010, 17:54

I was bored so i did something less boring:

Image
Syntax highlighting working 8-)

I also changed the font to a fixed-width font, its currently a hybrid of Lucida Console, Verdana and MS Sans Serif :lol:

Still a bit buggy, but works good if you dont put text straight before or after block comments.

The syntax colors can be changed in a file like this:

Code: Select all

#DefaultColor=CACACA
#Variables=8D8D8D
#Floats=21B0CC
#Integers=FFFFFF
#Comments=007500

#CompilerEnums=FFFF00
#CompilerDirectives=FF00FF
#GameLoops=FFFFFF
#DataTypes=FFFF75
#ControlStructures=2D72FF
#Functions=FF3A13
#Enums=FF893D


#CompilerEnums
PC
PSX


#CompilerDirectives
\#ifdef
\#endif
\#else


#GameLoops
LEVELSTART
LEVELEND
MISSIONSTART
MISSIONEND


#DataTypes
ARROW_DATA
CRANE_DATA
BONUS
CAR_DATA
CHAR_DATA
CONVEYOR
COUNTER
CRUSHER
DESTRUCTOR
DOOR_DATA
GENERATOR
LIGHT
MAP_ZONE
OBJ_DATA
...
Therefore its fully moddable. You can add own colors for any keyword you wish.

EditPlus highlights this file nicely with its syntax file syntax highlight 8-) (even though mine is slightly different to the one EditPlus uses)

I also made the fonts easier to edit: storing each font in a BMP file now.

User avatar
elypter
Immortal
Posts: 1120
Joined: 26 Dec 2009, 23:53
GH nick: elypter

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by elypter » 16 Dec 2010, 21:27

that looks very nice. When youre just about improving the code preview i have an idea for a feature: When you select an object on the map the preview jumps to that line in code. Make it work also the other way round: when you select a line in code the camera and selection should jump to that object too.
yur sa'nok ngeyä

User avatar
ALPINE
Car Jacker
Car Jacker
Posts: 36
Joined: 03 Jan 2010, 12:47
GH nick: ALPINE
Location: Togliatti, Russia
Contact:

Re: TradeMark's GTA2 Map Editor (0.5.32) (Only zone editor a

Post by ALPINE » 18 Dec 2010, 14:35

Great tool!

TradeMark: there is one nasty thing. Speed of camera depends on FPS. Maybe you will use DeltaTime when incrementing camera position when moving?
.4LPINE

Post Reply