vike's GTA2 update patch enhancement upgrade fix v11.44

Anything to do with GTA1/GTA2 modding (tools, scripts and more).
User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 26 Jun 2012, 23:31

The official maps are already optimised but DMA Designs didn't release whatever they used to do that. Updating MMP files/deleting old ones is possible with an installer or new GH. I might do it the next time there's a mandatory GH update, so that everyone has the same files.

User avatar
elypter
Immortal
Posts: 1120
Joined: 26 Dec 2009, 23:53
GH nick: elypter

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by elypter » 26 Jun 2012, 23:40

just ensure to only delete mmps that only differ by the playercount. there could theoretically also be maps that only differ by gci or any other mmp value while all stock values are the same.
yur sa'nok ngeyä

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 26 Jun 2012, 23:47

I don't have to worry about that for the official maps since the filenames are all known. Updating all the unofficial maps to work with 1-6 players (with one MMP file and preferably one SCR file) would be a much bigger task and some of it should be left to the original map authors (if they are still around).

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by BenMillard » 06 Jul 2012, 21:12

GH ships with a custom GTA2 which modifies the .scr files to fix a couple of bugs already? That happened at a previous mandatory update, I take it?

sayhelloto
Ped
Ped
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Jul 2012, 17:13

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by sayhelloto » 12 Jul 2012, 17:18

Unable to open file:

Any idea how to solve this problem? I use the latest version of gta2 with windows 8. The "old" version from rockstar works fine for me. [invul] Thank you very much.

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 13 Jul 2012, 08:49

I just tried 11.42 on Windows 8 and I get the same error. It seems Windows 8 compatibility was broken with 11.3beta1 (first support of custom GXT/GCI). 11.3beta0 works fine.

User avatar
Vike the Hube
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 143
Joined: 28 Feb 2010, 22:34
GH nick: vike

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Vike the Hube » 18 Jul 2012, 03:01

I'M ON IT [respect]

FulVal
Jaywalker
Jaywalker
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Oct 2009, 22:37
GH nick: FulVal

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by FulVal » 20 Jul 2012, 17:54

On windows 8 R.P. there is also a 16 mode compatibility when you try right clic on an .exe file, properties, compatibility, but this cause a problem with protocols options on gta2 manager.

sayhelloto
Ped
Ped
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Jul 2012, 17:13

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by sayhelloto » 26 Jul 2012, 14:35

Thanks for your advice. Do you know where to download the 11.3beta0 version? Which is probably way better than the old version from Rockstar.

Galactic Boy
Immortal
Posts: 333
Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 08:26

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Galactic Boy » 05 Oct 2012, 14:34

Sometimes while I playing third map, suddenly the game crashes during the game.

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 21 Oct 2012, 06:37

Download in first post: http://gtamp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=73

11.43 2012-10-21
- Now works on Windows 8 :-)
- F8 runs gta2manager.exe instead of GTA2 Manager.EXE
- The following commands no longer crash if the specified player/car/object doesn't exist:
GIVE_WEAPON
PUT_CAR_ON_TRAILER
DELETE_ITEM
ADD_SCORE
SET_CHAR_BRAVERY_LEVEL
SET_CHAR_SHOOTING_SKILL
SET_CHAR_THREAT_REACTION
SET_CHAR_INVINCIBLE
SET_FAVOURITE_MODEL
SET_CHAR_TO_USE_CAR_WEAPON

More commands can be patched not to crash if given a bad object. It helps to have an example MIS/SCR file that crashes when trying the commands you want patched.

Elypter suggested more commands to be patched here: http://pastebin.com/Bjdn1D2J

Galactic Boy
Immortal
Posts: 333
Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 08:26

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Galactic Boy » 21 Oct 2012, 09:35

Third map still crashes while I playing. :(

User avatar
Vike the Hube
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 143
Joined: 28 Feb 2010, 22:34
GH nick: vike

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Vike the Hube » 21 Oct 2012, 09:46

What OS are you on?

Can you trigger the crash and then immediately send me gta2\test\replay.rep? That should help.

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 22 Oct 2012, 15:20

Unintentional but GIVE_WEAPON and probably most of the other patched commands no longer work on CAR_DATA vehicles created before the PLAYER_DATA lines. I noticed this when playing ms-ghetto, the FBICAR didn't have vehicle machinegun. I think cool_case (rick army) script also uses CAR_DATA to create a car before PLAYER_DATA but most other scripts I looked at were fine.

Make sure PLAYER_DATA lines are the first lines in your mis.

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by BenMillard » 22 Oct 2012, 18:14

How about all the LOCATE checks? I have to wrap those in health checks for doing controlled respawning in Mazon Assault and invulnerable fall in TRON: Light Jets.

ADD_SCORE for non-existing players is handy for starting up a level.

Galactic Boy
Immortal
Posts: 333
Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 08:26

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Galactic Boy » 23 Oct 2012, 18:09

On v11.43, In my some maps, some bots are unarmed. e.g.:

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 24 Oct 2012, 06:25

Those scripts can be made to work with v11.43 by moving the CHAR_DATA/CAR_DATA to AFTER the PLAYER_DATA commands or you can just wait for the next GTA2 version.

Galactic Boy, if the 3rd level crashes again, send gta2\test\replay.rep (if you loaded a saved game, send the gta2\player files too).

Galactic Boy
Immortal
Posts: 333
Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 08:26

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Galactic Boy » 24 Oct 2012, 10:54

OK.

Hippox77
Mugger
Mugger
Posts: 11
Joined: 04 Nov 2012, 20:48

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Hippox77 » 05 Nov 2012, 11:33

Hi.

First, great work on this unofficial patch.

I just wanted to share a small tip about the frame rate if set to 'fast' in MP.

Okay, so If you think 50 FPS is too much - and you just happen to also own a NVIDIA graphics card - then you can adjust the FPS to you're liking. Basically anything under 50 FPS. You just have to download 'Nvidia Inspector' and set a frame rate limit on the driver level.

That's it. Enjoy any frame rate under 50 FPS that you want in MP. I use it for LAN with friends (30-35 frames is perfect on LAN), but it could be abused by the fact that you can basically enforce your wanted frame rate onto players via internet play, too. So don't do that! :)

This works on the driver level, so It's very stable. No issues, that I've observed, anyhow.
Last edited by Hippox77 on 05 Nov 2012, 11:40, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 05 Nov 2012, 11:40

I knew there must be some other program for slowing the frame rate. Fraps can do it but only when recording video, so that wasn't very practical. Now is there a frame rate tool that works on ATI and other video cards? It would be best if the host could just enter their own frame rate limit in GTA2 but that's up to Vike/asm wizards.

Post Reply