fancy bridge!

Anything to do with GTA1/GTA2 modding (tools, scripts and more).
Post Reply
Shazdeh
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 60
Joined: 29 Jul 2009, 20:22
GH nick: Dont_have_yet

fancy bridge!

Post by Shazdeh »

How to create a bridge like this: Image
I was tring to use tile number 382 (fences) in bil.ste which is a Flat tile, but I couldn't find the right Slopes to do that.
I haven't seen like this before in any map... :roll:

User avatar
Lantyz
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 71
Joined: 14 Apr 2009, 08:20
GH nick: Lantyz
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: fancy bridge!

Post by Lantyz »

The Golden Gate is featured in the San Andreas level of Grand Theft Auto, where it looks like this:

Image

A suspension bridge I made myself long ago looks like this:

Image

I used wil.sty, but I'm sure bil.sty has some similar tiles. What do you want to create with tile 382? If you're trying to create the cables, I suggest you try the tiles used for the electricity pylons in the Industrial District.

Shazdeh
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 60
Joined: 29 Jul 2009, 20:22
GH nick: Dont_have_yet

Re: fancy bridge!

Post by Shazdeh »

Ha! It has been created before! where can I download these?

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: fancy bridge!

Post by Sektor »


User avatar
Gustavob
Immortal
Posts: 407
Joined: 18 May 2009, 21:40
GH nick: Gustavob
|Gustavob|
Location: Nowhere.
Contact:

Re: fancy bridge!

Post by Gustavob »

If you want to do a bridge like golden gate, you must do more or less this way:

Start with slopes with gradient one, and go increasing the gradient to 2 and 8 (if needed)

For example:

2 gradient 1 slopes, 2 gradient 2 slopes and 1 gradient 8 slope or
2 gradient 1 slopes and 3 gradient 2 slopes

This last one is the one I used to make my own one :P

Image
http://img23.imageshack.us/i/goldengate2.jpg/
http://img97.imageshack.us/i/goldengate3.jpg/
http://img23.imageshack.us/i/goldengate4.jpg/

Increasing slope gradients is the best way to do a bridge like golden gate, and is the mostly used to make a kind of "curve"
You just lost the game.

Shazdeh
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 60
Joined: 29 Jul 2009, 20:22
GH nick: Dont_have_yet

Re: fancy bridge!

Post by Shazdeh »

@Gustavob: I tried slope 1 and 2 but it didn't work with tile 382. This tile is good for bridge, isn't? I think it looks more beautiful than the tile has been used on golden gate. :shock:
Do slopes work different with flat tiles? Working with slopes is a little tricky!

User avatar
Gustavob
Immortal
Posts: 407
Joined: 18 May 2009, 21:40
GH nick: Gustavob
|Gustavob|
Location: Nowhere.
Contact:

Re: fancy bridge!

Post by Gustavob »

Well, if the problem was the flat itself (tile didnt get flat), be completely sure you selected the cube face that should be flat in the map editor, via block info. With me it worked perfectly:

Image

Notice that diagonal walls cannot be flat
You just lost the game.

Post Reply