Page 44 of 50

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 06 Feb 2012, 14:42
by Cuban-Pete
The shadow is all quadratic (look at lanterns shadow or the trees), I don't know how to fix that. I guess that is because of the "cheap" ambient occlusion rendering used in Blender.

Some very busy renders: [doubledamage]

residental3.jpg
residental2.jpg
residental.jpg

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 06 Feb 2012, 15:38
by AssainGuy
so actually we can port gta2 maps into (ex.) blender? cool!
GMOD next :)))

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 06 Feb 2012, 18:48
by T.M.
Looks cool, i still like more the previous one you did, though :)

That last image looks like its rendering the other side of the "flat" at same time. Have you enabled face culling? or maybe the exporter has some bugs... gotta take a look.

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 06 Feb 2012, 19:40
by T.M.
Looks like i broke the deltas (numbers on racecars), just noticed.

Amazing bug though: if i fix it, it will cause memory access violations, if i dont fix it, deltas stop working. (or was it other way around) :? So, i can make it work but it will cause crashes :| What the hell... anyways too tired to think about it now.

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 11:58
by BenMillard
Cuban-Pete, the lighting on the Scientist's test track jump over the water looks perfect! Shade from the wall one side blending across to highlight from the Sun on the other.

I always like seeing the North-East warehouse and docks from Industrial. Vedic Temple and the Escobar Power Cores are also cool. Maybe some close-up renders of my Vedic Temple arena? I'm pleased with Tiny Tiny Town and Tiny Hidden Surprise if you want to try some other smaller scenes.

TM, does the COLLADA technical specification (PDF) help at all? Chapter 5 has a section called light which says:
Specifies light in formation for the common profile that all
COLLADA implementations must support. See “The
Common Profile” section for usage information. Mu st
contain exactly one <ambient> (core),
<directional>, <point>, or <spot> element; see
their main entri e s.
It says a couple more things then gives this example:
Here is an example of a <library_lights> elemen t that contains a directional <light> element that is
instantiated in a visual scene, rotated to portray a sunset:
[xml]<library_lights>
< light id=" sun " name=" the-sun">
< technique_common >
<directional>
<color >1.0 1.0 1.0</color >
</ directional>
</technique_common>
</light >
</library_lights>
<library_visual_scenes>
< visual_scene>
< node>
<rotate>1 0 0 -10</rotate>
<instance_light url="#sun"/>
</node>
</visual_scene>
</library_visual_scenes >[/xml]
Not sure about the specifics at a quick glance, so this is probably stuff you already saw. <point> lights might the nearest thing to GTA2 lights?

(EDIT) Rogue spaces in the XML sample are because PDF sucks, AFAICT.

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 12:46
by T.M.
BenMillard wrote:<point> lights might the nearest thing to GTA2 lights?
Im not sure... probably. I will try.

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 13:20
by T.M.
Uh... looks like every program needs own profiles for lights...? i saved lights with blender and i get:

Code: Select all

<technique profile="blender">
with all the required stuff like light radius... not sure how can i make this work.

and idk how the attenuation variables work

Code: Select all

          <constant_attenuation>1</constant_attenuation>
          <linear_attenuation>0</linear_attenuation>
          <quadratic_attenuation>0.001599967</quadratic_attenuation>
i just need linear attenuation, nothing else. so middle = 100%, edge = 0%, i have forgot everything about these... so if you know lemme know and i might make it today.

edit: i think it goes like:

Code: Select all

          <constant_attenuation>0</constant_attenuation>
          <linear_attenuation>1</linear_attenuation>
          <quadratic_attenuation>0</quadratic_attenuation>
according to the formula in docs: A = constant_attenuation + ( Dist * linear_attenuation ) + (( Dist^2 ) * quadratic_attenuation )

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 13:34
by Cuban-Pete
// i dont know what constant atenduenance is

For a nice render, I kinda need lamps that have "Ray Shadow" and samples at 10.

See this image:
Naamloos.png
Naamloos.png (56.29 KiB) Viewed 18397 times
left top. ray 10
left bottom ray 1
right top ray 10 + AO
right bottom ray 1 + AO

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 14:00
by T.M.
I need to use linear attenuation, even though it isnt realistic, but its what GTA2 uses... if i change it, the lights will not match how it was designed to be.

i dont know what "Ray Shadow" lamp is, i only have options: constant_attenuation, linear_attenuation, quadratic_attenuation. constant seems to change the brightness of the light somehow, so its brighter in the middle. quadratic is usually the realistic one to use, that i can remember.

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 14:37
by T.M.
edit: apparently the distance isnt working... what the hell does centimeter mean in blender?

edit2: here, i hope this works:
res.7z
with bulbs
(1.54 MiB) Downloaded 282 times
i couldnt make it render in blender, someone else try?

note that you need to generate the .tga yourself!

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 19:07
by Cuban-Pete
working on it...

//edit: it renders freaking slowly

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 19:11
by T.M.
you could try cutting the map smaller to have only the area you render :D (thats what i do when i load map with lots of empty space, horribly slow). also, dont forget to remove doubles ^^

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 19:35
by Cuban-Pete
I give up, too much crap needs fixing.
wtf1.png
Sorry, but can´t get more out of it.

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 20:07
by T.M.
did you get it any faster by cutting the maps/useless lamps off? looks like the squared shadows are a big problem too...

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 20:12
by Cuban-Pete
Yeah, turned lamps outside camera view off, it did help a little in render speed.

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 20:23
by NTAuthority
Just a random somewhat off-topic question, but since you're the only person on this forum I could think of who has implemented a GBH map renderer, I was wondering if you could share your block vertex definitions? I'm experimenting with some stuff, and am getting weird issues with the vertex definitions I make up on various places including diagonal blocks' textures (and wouldn't even know what '3-sided diagonals' would look like properly).

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 22:14
by T.M.
@NTAuthority, you can use DMA map editor to check how the blocks look like and make your vertex data out of them by hands, at least thats how i did it.

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 07 Feb 2012, 22:25
by NTAuthority
T.M. wrote:@NTAuthority, you can use DMA map editor to check how the blocks look like and make your vertex data out of them by hands, at least thats how i did it.
Seems like a tedious task, but okay. :P

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 30 Apr 2012, 13:31
by T.M.
Created a video for showing how this editor works in its basics:


The quality is surprisingly bad... i noticed i accidentally recorded everything with 640x470 instead of 640x480, i think that is why its so bad quality, or maybe youtube didnt encode the higher quality yet...

Re: Epic GTA2 Map Editor (0.6.6) Beta

Posted: 30 Apr 2012, 18:54
by Davidio
What is different by the TM's Map editor and this?