vike's GTA2 update patch enhancement upgrade fix v11.44

Anything to do with GTA1/GTA2 modding (tools, scripts and more).
CarThief
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 108
Joined: 19 May 2012, 18:12
GH nick: CarThief
Location: Holland, AKA The Netherlands

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by CarThief » 08 Mar 2013, 19:39

Well apparently last time i tried to post the forum was suddenly moving servers, a while afterwards the main website has some kind of error and was also inaccesible. I guess you where busy doing something or whoever's hosting this was?

But back to the main topic, wouldnt it be possible to make a .bat/.exe file that completely automates the process?
Like maybe something like this...

Code: Select all

regedit /s carthief.reg
run gta2.exe
wait untill gta2.exe is closed
regedit /s carthief-undo.reg
close itself/this window
Seen some old DOS-using games use functions like waiting for something to close or otherwise, perhaps thats reasonably doable as a short .bat or .exe file to run a custom map with?
And i assume overwriting the registry would set the map, sty, scr and save to those values just as if they where entered manually in the manager? Not a very big drawback if so, as long as skip frontend is enabled or disabled accordingly.

And if waiting commands arent available i guess it might work without too? Edit the registry first, run GTA2.exe and have it use those values while during the game it sets skip frontend back to off and discretely close it. Assuming registry changes to the manager doesnt screw with the game, and gta2 can properly load the data before its overwritten again, hm... Sounds rather gimmicky. :P

User avatar
Vike the Hube
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 143
Joined: 28 Feb 2010, 22:34
GH nick: vike

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Vike the Hube » 09 Mar 2013, 00:08

Yeah, that's what I meant ;) GTA2 might take a few seconds to load the registry settings because it does a lot on startup. So if you can't "wait for it to exit", then just put a sleep in instead. It will still work because like you said it won't save the registry settings again.

CarThief
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 108
Joined: 19 May 2012, 18:12
GH nick: CarThief
Location: Holland, AKA The Netherlands

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by CarThief » 10 Mar 2013, 13:50

Well if all it needs is a batch file and some .reg files i could probaly put this together myself if i know the wait/sleep commands for that thing. I wonder if there's also a command to have it display a message, so it could say that it needs time to load the registry files, for example. And if needed have it display an 'press any key to exit' kind of message?

But just to be sure i take it the only drawback is that it changes the gmp, sty, scr and save entries in the manager's debug menu?

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 12 Mar 2013, 01:55

Make the army tank AI shoot and drive at the same time, maybe that would be too difficult, ignore this idea.

This topic is 18 pages. Someone go through and put all the feature requests in one post and split all the offtopic chat into suitable topics.

User avatar
Pyro
Immortal
Posts: 414
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 04:07
GH nick: Pyro
Location: Wales, UK

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Pyro » 12 Mar 2013, 18:19

Sektor wrote:Make the army tank AI shoot and drive at the same time.
Or even the gun jeeps to fire their machine gun on the move? Considerably more jeeps drive around than tanks! Holy mother of spray-and-pray :shock:

Devastator
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Dec 2011, 16:54

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Devastator » 01 Apr 2013, 19:17

A small but minor bug(oversight) I've noticed is that Special Agents that get out of cars have their weapons reversed, i.e. the one that fires a shotgun drops a Silenced S-Uzi & the one with S-Uzi drops a shotgun. Also would there be any way to fix the bug where if two cops get out of two different cop cars at the same time they keep entering & exiting their cars?

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by BenMillard » 03 Apr 2013, 12:05

We could split the best messages into Lantyz's Gameplay issues that need fixing topic?

Admins and moderators would be able to update his first message, too. I've not seen him around for ages.

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 01 May 2013, 15:51

There's a 22 character SCR filename limit (might be less than that). If it's easy to increase then why not.

Rick
Car Jacker
Car Jacker
Posts: 33
Joined: 29 Jan 2012, 18:56
GH nick: Sequential

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Rick » 17 Jul 2013, 08:31

Wrecking RC Cars counts as selfkill in MP.
I guess also in SP, but there you keep your number of lives??

I wonder how hard it is to create a workaround in the exe?
I tried so hard to get a workaround with the script but i didnt find a solution. :cry:

Maybe you can make "WARP_FROM_CAR_TO_POINT" can exit the RC session without killing you.
Then you could EXPLODE it? The question is what the trigger is.
I am working on a "mixed mode map" and working with points is not satisfying.

And the number keys useable for firing messages and short sounds from the raw please haha.

Thanks!!! :-)

User avatar
elypter
Immortal
Posts: 1119
Joined: 26 Dec 2009, 23:53
GH nick: elypter

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by elypter » 18 Jul 2013, 23:15

unfortunately thete is no way to not loose frags when destroying an rc car. from what i rmember it crashes when teleporting out or it crashes when the rc car gets destroyed
yur sa'nok ngeyä

Rick
Car Jacker
Car Jacker
Posts: 33
Joined: 29 Jan 2012, 18:56
GH nick: Sequential

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Rick » 29 Jul 2013, 16:06

Another idea for the RC issue:
A script command -> ADD_FRAG_POINT (player)
so after each check IS_CAR_WRECKED this new command could be used and give the frag point back after the "selfkill".
This command is probably also good for other scripting possibilities.

User avatar
elypter
Immortal
Posts: 1119
Joined: 26 Dec 2009, 23:53
GH nick: elypter

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by elypter » 30 Jul 2013, 00:21

or even more useful: a get and set frag command
yur sa'nok ngeyä

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 02 Sep 2013, 04:19

gta2.exe creates HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\DMA Design Ltd\GTA2\Screen special_recognition on launch. It should use HKCU.

User avatar
Vike the Hube
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 143
Joined: 28 Feb 2010, 22:34
GH nick: vike

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Vike the Hube » 06 Sep 2013, 07:47

11.44 is out :)

User avatar
B-$hep
Immortal
Posts: 531
Joined: 24 Apr 2009, 21:43
GH nick: B-Shep
Location: Estonia - Finland

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by B-$hep » 06 Sep 2013, 20:19

Vike
Where i can read whats added / modified in each version?
I dont use your modified exe because i dont play multiplayer but its just interesting for me.
Always wear safety glasses while programming.

User avatar
Vike the Hube
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 143
Joined: 28 Feb 2010, 22:34
GH nick: vike

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Vike the Hube » 06 Sep 2013, 23:31

First post :)

User avatar
Sektor
Boss
Boss
Posts: 1369
Joined: 04 Mar 2008, 06:51
GH nick: Sektor
Location: GTAMP.com
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by Sektor » 07 Sep 2013, 12:20

11.44 is out again. Vike fixed a desync bug with sin/cos.

Download it again if you downloaded before this post.

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by BenMillard » 09 Sep 2013, 13:53

Soldat cannot open the .7z at start of first message. I've told him to use the installer instead.

jotab
Mugger
Mugger
Posts: 10
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 23:08

Re: vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by jotab » 25 Dec 2013, 00:59

I tried the 11.44 version and it worked great for LAN gaming, didnt test anything more but it is still great to see that you are still developing it!

I found a bug that you might be aware of, when setting up a LAN game the game crashes on join, or you cannot see the other players game. This was caused by our router having UPnP turned on, which confused gta2 even though both were on the same lan. If it is possible to trace what causes this if UPnP is turned on on a router on the network and make it still work/disable UPnP altogether the problem would be gone and it would be so much easier to set up a lan game.

Best regards Jon

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: vike's enhanced GTA2

Post by BenMillard » 26 Dec 2013, 23:44

We are generally aware that UPnP causes issues and most GTA2 multiplayer guides suggest to disable it. (I had problems with a NetGear router which were solved by disabling UPnP in that router.)

This specific situation with a LAN connection might be new information. Perhaps it should be added to those guides.

Post Reply