Page 16 of 20

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 26 Jun 2012, 23:31
by Sektor
The official maps are already optimised but DMA Designs didn't release whatever they used to do that. Updating MMP files/deleting old ones is possible with an installer or new GH. I might do it the next time there's a mandatory GH update, so that everyone has the same files.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 26 Jun 2012, 23:40
by elypter
just ensure to only delete mmps that only differ by the playercount. there could theoretically also be maps that only differ by gci or any other mmp value while all stock values are the same.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 26 Jun 2012, 23:47
by Sektor
I don't have to worry about that for the official maps since the filenames are all known. Updating all the unofficial maps to work with 1-6 players (with one MMP file and preferably one SCR file) would be a much bigger task and some of it should be left to the original map authors (if they are still around).

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 06 Jul 2012, 21:12
by BenMillard
GH ships with a custom GTA2 which modifies the .scr files to fix a couple of bugs already? That happened at a previous mandatory update, I take it?

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 12 Jul 2012, 17:18
by sayhelloto
Unable to open file:

Any idea how to solve this problem? I use the latest version of gta2 with windows 8. The "old" version from rockstar works fine for me. [invul] Thank you very much.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 13 Jul 2012, 08:49
by Sektor
I just tried 11.42 on Windows 8 and I get the same error. It seems Windows 8 compatibility was broken with 11.3beta1 (first support of custom GXT/GCI). 11.3beta0 works fine.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 18 Jul 2012, 03:01
by Vike the Hube
I'M ON IT [respect]

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
by FulVal
On windows 8 R.P. there is also a 16 mode compatibility when you try right clic on an .exe file, properties, compatibility, but this cause a problem with protocols options on gta2 manager.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 26 Jul 2012, 14:35
by sayhelloto
Thanks for your advice. Do you know where to download the 11.3beta0 version? Which is probably way better than the old version from Rockstar.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 05 Oct 2012, 14:34
by Galactic Boy
Sometimes while I playing third map, suddenly the game crashes during the game.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 21 Oct 2012, 06:37
by Sektor
Download in first post: http://gtamp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=73

11.43 2012-10-21
- Now works on Windows 8 :-)
- F8 runs gta2manager.exe instead of GTA2 Manager.EXE
- The following commands no longer crash if the specified player/car/object doesn't exist:
GIVE_WEAPON
PUT_CAR_ON_TRAILER
DELETE_ITEM
ADD_SCORE
SET_CHAR_BRAVERY_LEVEL
SET_CHAR_SHOOTING_SKILL
SET_CHAR_THREAT_REACTION
SET_CHAR_INVINCIBLE
SET_FAVOURITE_MODEL
SET_CHAR_TO_USE_CAR_WEAPON

More commands can be patched not to crash if given a bad object. It helps to have an example MIS/SCR file that crashes when trying the commands you want patched.

Elypter suggested more commands to be patched here: http://pastebin.com/Bjdn1D2J

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 21 Oct 2012, 09:35
by Galactic Boy
Third map still crashes while I playing. :(

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 21 Oct 2012, 09:46
by Vike the Hube
What OS are you on?

Can you trigger the crash and then immediately send me gta2\test\replay.rep? That should help.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 22 Oct 2012, 15:20
by Sektor
Unintentional but GIVE_WEAPON and probably most of the other patched commands no longer work on CAR_DATA vehicles created before the PLAYER_DATA lines. I noticed this when playing ms-ghetto, the FBICAR didn't have vehicle machinegun. I think cool_case (rick army) script also uses CAR_DATA to create a car before PLAYER_DATA but most other scripts I looked at were fine.

Make sure PLAYER_DATA lines are the first lines in your mis.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 22 Oct 2012, 18:14
by BenMillard
How about all the LOCATE checks? I have to wrap those in health checks for doing controlled respawning in Mazon Assault and invulnerable fall in TRON: Light Jets.

ADD_SCORE for non-existing players is handy for starting up a level.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 23 Oct 2012, 18:09
by Galactic Boy
On v11.43, In my some maps, some bots are unarmed. e.g.:

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 24 Oct 2012, 06:25
by Sektor
Those scripts can be made to work with v11.43 by moving the CHAR_DATA/CAR_DATA to AFTER the PLAYER_DATA commands or you can just wait for the next GTA2 version.

Galactic Boy, if the 3rd level crashes again, send gta2\test\replay.rep (if you loaded a saved game, send the gta2\player files too).

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 24 Oct 2012, 10:54
by Galactic Boy
OK.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 05 Nov 2012, 11:33
by Hippox77
Hi.

First, great work on this unofficial patch.

I just wanted to share a small tip about the frame rate if set to 'fast' in MP.

Okay, so If you think 50 FPS is too much - and you just happen to also own a NVIDIA graphics card - then you can adjust the FPS to you're liking. Basically anything under 50 FPS. You just have to download 'Nvidia Inspector' and set a frame rate limit on the driver level.

That's it. Enjoy any frame rate under 50 FPS that you want in MP. I use it for LAN with friends (30-35 frames is perfect on LAN), but it could be abused by the fact that you can basically enforce your wanted frame rate onto players via internet play, too. So don't do that! :)

This works on the driver level, so It's very stable. No issues, that I've observed, anyhow.

Re: Vike's enhanced GTA2

Posted: 05 Nov 2012, 11:40
by Sektor
I knew there must be some other program for slowing the frame rate. Fraps can do it but only when recording video, so that wasn't very practical. Now is there a frame rate tool that works on ATI and other video cards? It would be best if the host could just enter their own frame rate limit in GTA2 but that's up to Vike/asm wizards.