GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post GTA1/GTA2 maps here (finished and work in progress).
User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

GTA2 D.T.D Version 1.0
_________________________

.GTA2 DownTown Dies Version 1.0, i'll add new updates soon

.Thanks To CarThief & Sektor ( For Phone Help ) And Elypter For .sty Files

This map includes two cities Linked to each other by 2 bridges
City 1 Includes:
1.hospital
2.Church
3.Fire Station
4.Police Station
5.Small Stadium
6.A Zooka Arena Square
7.4 Building
8. Army Base
9.A Temple (includes Tanks)


This is The First Version Of my Map (version 1.0), i'll soon add some gangs, secret areas and some missions
You can Rate My Map If you wanted.

Second City Includes:
1.Zaibatsu Area
2.Very Tiny rocket arena
3. A Garage

Weapons, cars ..etc I Added Everything in it.
Thanks.
Hope you guys enjoy it :)
Attachments
GTA2 DTD version 1.0.RAR
(31.55 KiB) Downloaded 393 times
gta2text_3146953253.jpg
gta2text_3146953253.jpg (9.35 KiB) Viewed 23956 times
The fuck you looking at?

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by BenMillard »

Screenshots and mini-map?

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

I Need help in this too, i dont know how to make mini maps :<
The fuck you looking at?

User avatar
T.M.
Immortal
Posts: 957
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 15:00
Location: F21B3EED

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by T.M. »

Alberto wrote:I Need help in this too, i dont know how to make mini maps :<
Load a map with Epic GTA2 Map Editor, go to File -> Save -> Image -> Map Image. Select rectangle, adjust camera altitude and double right click. In addition you can resize the weapon icons by going to Options -> Script objects -> Scale.

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

Picture
Attachments
111Capture.JPG
The fuck you looking at?

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

First, Thanks T.M For your Help, i cant upload the Mini-map because The Forum can't upload something more the 2MB
My Next Updates: I'll Add :
1.GANGS (Example: Zaibatsu)
2. New City and i'll link it to the first 2 cities
3.Missions
4.I'll Fix The Shops
5.Maybe I Can Add Trains.
The fuck you looking at?

User avatar
Pyro
Immortal
Posts: 414
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 04:07
GH nick: Pyro
Location: Wales, UK

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Pyro »

Have you tried compressing the map? Things like the converted GTA1 maps into GTA2, inside a ZIP file, include the GMP and STY file and is ~1.6MB.

I believe TM's editor can compress GMP files from ~6MB to about ~300KB, otherwise one of Delfi/Jernej's tools can do it. You should always compress your map just to save file space really, and no reason not to.

BenMillard
Immortal
Posts: 889
Joined: 16 May 2009, 06:14
GH nick: BenMillard
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by BenMillard »

Pyro, the "mini-map" is the .bmp image generated by TM's editor.

Alberto, open the mini-map and save it as a PNG File. You can do this in Paint, that's included with Windows.

User avatar
Pyro
Immortal
Posts: 414
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 04:07
GH nick: Pyro
Location: Wales, UK

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Pyro »

Looks like I didn't read it properly, my mistake! Too tired last night I think ;)

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

I'm About to finish my Updates, Do you guys know how to make the phone answered? Like, I Stand on the phone, So it Starts a mission?
Thats Hard I Think
The fuck you looking at?

User avatar
Pyro
Immortal
Posts: 414
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 04:07
GH nick: Pyro
Location: Wales, UK

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Pyro »

I have a working phone tutorial here. It shows an extremely basic setup that works for one player.

You can change the code inside the phone function (where the briefs are shown in my tutorial) to do nearly anything you want, including IF statements (example - if you answer a phone with $5,000 you can make it do one thing, and if they don't have $5,000 do something else).

Of course, you'll need to use a THREAD_TRIGGER per player to make it work properly in multiplayer.

CarThief
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 108
Joined: 19 May 2012, 18:12
GH nick: CarThief
Location: Holland, AKA The Netherlands

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by CarThief »

If it helps, this is what im using for Missions for my current project, it uses Blue Phones for missions.

Code: Select all

SAVED_COUNTER Global_OnMission = 0 
SAVED_COUNTER Global_MissionsPassed = 0

DECLARE_TOTAL_MISSIONS (40)
DECLARE_MISSION_FLAG (Player1, Global_OnMission)

SAVED_COUNTER Mission_TutStatus = 0 //TUTORIAL              - No faction: Too easy
SAVED_COUNTER Mission_As1Status = 0 //GRAND THEFT ICE CREAM - Loonies: Easy

OBJ_DATA Global_TutorialPhone = (124.5, 130.5, 2.0) 180 PHONE
OBJ_DATA Global_AsylumPhone1 = (240.5, 17.5, 2.0) 0 PHONE

//Mission 1.
FORWARD TutSub://TUTORIAL
THREAD_TRIGGER TutSubThread = THREAD_WAIT_FOR_ANSWER_PHONE (player1, Global_TutorialPhone, TutSub:)
TutSub:
IF(Global_OnMission = 1)
DISPLAY_BRIEF (1008) //Uses Custom GXT: n!#Finish your current job first# before you try and start a new one!
Delay(20)
ENABLE_THREAD_TRIGGER (TutSubThread)
RETURN
ENDIF
LAUNCH_MISSION (wsd_tut.mis)
RETURN

//Mission 2.
FORWARD As1Sub://GRAND THEFT ICE CREAM
THREAD_TRIGGER As1SubThread = THREAD_WAIT_FOR_ANSWER_PHONE (player1, Global_AsylumPhone1, As1Sub:)
As1Sub:
IF(Global_OnMission = 1)
DISPLAY_BRIEF (1008) //Same text.
Delay(20)
ENABLE_THREAD_TRIGGER (As1SubThread)
RETURN
ENDIF
LAUNCH_MISSION (wsd_as1.mis)
RETURN
COUNTERS/Flags like Global_OnMission(checks if player's on a mission) and Global_MissionsPassed(used to display the number of missions passed in the pause screen) are handled manually after one of the missions ends.

A quick example of the tutorial mission in the project, where it shows everything done manually:

Code: Select all

//TUTORIAL MISSION

//Mission declares and counters.
CAR_DATA Tut_Taxi
COUNTER Tut_Passed = 0
COUNTER Tut_Failed = 0

FORWARD Tut_Cleanup: //Do not let this be the first thing in a mission file.

Tut_Main: //Consider this a mission file's LEVELSTART. And the stuff above this before LEVELSTART.

EXEC
//Setup criticals beforehand.
SET Global_OnMission = 1 //The player is now on a mission.
SET MissionLoop = 1
STOP_PHONE (Global_TutorialPhone) //This phone who started the mission will now stop ringing.

//Mission stuff between this and WHILE_EXEC.

Tut_Taxi = CREATE_CAR (127.5, 139.0, 2.0) -1 0 TAXI END
DISPLAY_MESSAGE (1007)
DISPLAY_BRIEF_NOW (1002)
Delay(1)
DISPLAY_BRIEF (1003)
Delay(1)
DISPLAY_BRIEF (1005)
ENDEXEC

WHILE_EXEC(MissionLoop = 1)

DO_NOWT//Just in case.

IF(IS_CHARACTER_IN_CAR (Player1, Tut_Taxi))
CLEAR_ALL_BRIEFS ()
DISPLAY_BRIEF_NOW (1006)
DISPLAY_MESSAGE (1124) //JOB COMPLETE!
ADD_SCORE (Player1, 10000)
ADD_LIVES (Player1, 94) //Dont mind this.
GIVE_WEAPON (Player1, PISTOL, 20)
CLEAR_WANTED_LEVEL (Player1)
SET Tut_Passed = 1
RETURN
ENDIF

//These IS_CAR_WRECKED or HAS_CHARACTER_DIED/ARRESTED states are here to make the mission fail if the player dies, gets arrested or wrecks the Taxi.

IF(IS_CAR_WRECKED(Tut_Taxi))
CLEAR_ALL_BRIEFS ()
DISPLAY_BRIEF_NOW (1004)
DISPLAY_MESSAGE (1125)//JOB FAILED!
SET Tut_Failed = 1
RETURN
ENDIF

IF(HAS_CHARACTER_DIED (Player1))
CLEAR_ALL_BRIEFS ()
DISPLAY_MESSAGE (1125)//JOB FAILED!
SET Tut_Failed = 1
RETURN
ENDIF

IF(HAS_CHAR_BEEN_ARRESTED (Player1))
CLEAR_ALL_BRIEFS ()
DISPLAY_MESSAGE (1125)//JOB FAILED!
SET Tut_Failed = 1
RETURN
ENDIF

ENDWHILE

RETURN //Consider each RETURN command to be the same as a main scripts LEVELEND.

//-----------------------------------CLEAN UP--------------------------------------

Tut_Cleanup: //Same deal, its kind of a second LEVELSTART. There's ussually no reason to WHILE-Loop this part though.

IF(Tut_Passed = 1) //These two handle what should happen if the mission passed or failed.
//SET Mission_TutStatus = 1//Completed
//++Global_MissionsPassed
//Global_TutorialLight = CREATE_OBJ (124.3, 130.2, 2.0) 270 GENLITE END
DISABLE_THREAD_TRIGGER(TutSubThread)
SET Global_OnMission = 0
SET MissionLoop = 0
//STOP_PHONE_RINGING (Global_TutorialPhone)
SET_PHONE_DEAD (Global_TutorialPhone)
ENDIF

IF(Tut_Failed = 1) //If the mission failed re-activate it.
SET Mission_TutStatus = 0
ENABLE_THREAD_TRIGGER(TutSubThread)
SET Global_OnMission = 0
SET MissionLoop = 0
ANSWER_PHONE (Player1, Global_TutorialPhone, -1)
ENDIF

SET Global_OnMission = 0 //And important commands before running MISSION_HAS_FINISHED.
SET MissionLoop = 0
SET Global_MissionFinished = 1
SET Tut_Passed = 0
SET Tut_Failed = 0

MISSION_HAS_FINISHED()

//Dont mind this part, normally MISSION_HAS_FINISHED is the last thing in a cleanup block.
SET Mission_TutStatus = 1//Completed 
++Global_MissionsPassed
Global_TutorialLight = CREATE_OBJ (124.3, 130.2, 2.0) 270 GENLITE END
 
RETURN //And this can be considered the second LEVELEND.

MISSIONSTART //Here is where the mission actually starts. But you should probaly call a Subroutine from here and work it out from there.

GOSUB Tut_Main: //First call the main subroutine, that declares stuff, spawns stuff, and runs the while loop untill the mission failed or passed.
GOSUB Tut_Cleanup: //Then call this and use this to clean up leftovers from the mission. No need to delete items declared and spawned during missions, they delete themselves automatically when out of sight, if this is not an option, delete anyway. Use FORCE_CLEANUP(weaponorpickup) instead on any OBJ_DATA spawned weapons so they do get removed when complete.

MISSIONEND
In the Tutorial mission's example, it will stop working once its passed, but if its failed it will re-enable itself though, in the case of using blue phones to trigger missions i suggest stopping the phone after the mission starts, this is somewhere in the start of the mission. No idea if its needed for red/yellow or green phones though.

If this still doesnt help you i can take the liberty of translating these two dutch tutorial pages later on which are still not officially translated, they happen to contain the rather complex mission stuff.
Pages in question:
http://nl.wikigta.org/wiki/PHONEs_(GTA2)
http://nl.wikigta.org/wiki/Missie_scripten_(GTA2)

Here's whats in English so far, these are all GTA2 tutorials:
http://en.wikigta.org/index.php/Modding_(GTA2)
Edit - Link could be disfunctional, if so try this:
http://en.wikigta.org/wiki/Modding_%28GTA2%29
(Hm, has this resource ever been officially listed? Its pretty good, i learned alot from there, cranes, trains, it proved to be very accurate and easy to handle.)

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

PROBLEM SOLVED, Thanks All
Last edited by Alberto on 15 Jun 2012, 22:47, edited 1 time in total.
The fuck you looking at?

User avatar
Salamander
Janitor
Janitor
Posts: 145
Joined: 01 Apr 2009, 20:38
GH nick: Salamander
KingSalamander
Sally
[00]
Contact:

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Salamander »

Code tags. Use them.

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

Sorry, Whats the Code Tags?
The fuck you looking at?

CarThief
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 108
Joined: 19 May 2012, 18:12
GH nick: CarThief
Location: Holland, AKA The Netherlands

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by CarThief »

The code tags are {code}{/code} if you replace the { and }'s with brackets or whatever they're called ([ and ]).

Its up there next to "Quote" and "List=" and the likes. Right above the posting area are various buttons. Though the {mis}This is supposed to be a GTA2 script.{/mis} tags (again, with []'s) are not listed there as a button so you will have to use them manually.

And i took a look at the code but im not quite sure what the problem is. What is the exact problem or error message you're getting?
Does the phone not react when walked over? Does it crash during any specific action (like answering the phone) or display the wrong text or something?

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

Yes it doesnt react when walked over
The fuck you looking at?

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

Re: GTA2 DTD Version 1.0

Post by Alberto »

Well, i made the phone answers the 6 Players, but when i use it ( PLAY ALONE ) The Map Crashes
Can i creat one or more "bLUE" Telephone ?
The fuck you looking at?

User avatar
Alberto
Hitman
Hitman
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 20:13
GH nick: Raef/ RaefGH
Location: Calgary.

GTA2 DTD V.1.5

Post by Alberto »

GTA2 DownTown Dies v1.5
________________________

I Added a New City in it :) , I'm learning how to add gangs, But there is 2 Problems faced me:

First problem: I Made 6 players map :
PLAYER_PED p1 = ( X.X, Y.Y, Z.Z ) 7 180
PLAYER_PED p2 = ( X.X, Y.Y, Z.Z ) 10 180
PLAYER_PED p3 = ( X.X, Y.Y, Z.Z ) 8 180
PLAYER_PED p4 = ( X.X, Y.Y, Z.Z ) 5 180 -----------> It started with player 4
PLAYER_PED p5 = ( X.X, Y.Y, Z.Z ) 6 180
PLAYER_PED p6 = ( X.X, Y.Y, Z.Z ) 2 180

When i used play alone button in G.H (To test the map) Its uses the PLAYER_PED 4 script and i play with player 4, it should check the P1 And when i use play-alone It should starts with player one script.


Second Problem:
I Added the telephone, it should works with the 6 players, but it works for player 4 only
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

Any Next updates will come soon.
Hope you Enjoy It
-Raef
Attachments
GTA2 DownTown Dies v1.5.RAR
(72.25 KiB) Downloaded 320 times
GTA2 DTD.jpg
Last edited by Alberto on 22 Jun 2012, 01:37, edited 1 time in total.
The fuck you looking at?

Davidio
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 65
Joined: 22 Feb 2011, 12:18
GH nick: Davidio

Re: GTA2 DTD V.1.5

Post by Davidio »

What you mean with it should works?

Would you like that it make sounds or what is the error??

Post Reply